Announcing your Own Retirement

How To Write Letters: Announcing your Own Retirement
Letter # 1:

Rita Wilkinson
Address
City, State Zip

January 1, 2005

Mr. John Doe
123 Broadway
New York, NY 10003

Dear Mr. Doe:

It’s time to express my sincerest gratitude for the great friendships I have had here at ABC’s over the past years. As some of you know, I am retiring at the end of March and plan to move to my old hometown of Riverdale.

I know Jane has been considering Diane for my position. Diane has worked for us for 15 years in our order administration department. She has provided our customers with top-of-the-line boot sales and service. We are pleased to have her in our office, and I am sure she will do an excellent job in servicing. I feel good that I am leaving my work in her capable hands.

Leaving will not be entirely easy. I have genuinely enjoyed working with our great staff. Please remember us at the summer picnic and feel welcome to drop in to see us in Springfield.

Best regards,

Rita Wilkinson

How To Write Letters: Announcing your Own Retirement
Letter # 2:

Rita Wilkinson
Address
City, State Zip

January 1, 2005

Mr. John Doe
123 Broadway
New York, NY 10003

Dear Mr. Doe:

After 35 years in the field, I am retiring from ABC & Co. Inc. on March 15.

Now, I can proudly look back and reminisce what I have help built for the company. From the early days of heading the research department to my latest post in the communications department, I have exhausted all that I have to help realize our vision. It has really been a truly rewarding experience. It’s time to make my way to Riverdale for some leisurely activities.

I have loved my job and co-workers and will truly miss each of you dearly. My wife and I will keep a vacant room with a comfortable bed for visitors! Let’s keep in touch!

Best regards,

Rita Wilkinson

How To Write Letters: Announcing your Own Retirement
Letter # 3:

Rita Wilkinson
Address
City, State Zip

January 1, 2005

Mr. John Doe
123 Broadway
New York, NY 10003

Dear Mr. Doe:

On March 15, exactly 41 years after my difficult first day with ABC Industries, I’will be leaving my desk for the last time. Jane and I will be relocating to Riverdale.

You all know ABC Industries has benefited from Diane’s leadership, inventive, courageous, and trend-setting style ideas, making her one of the most sought after consultants on marketing strategies. I believe she is exceptionally well-qualified to take over where I leave off. I would like to mention that my employment here has been thoroughly gratifying and rewarding.

I will miss you all so much, but never fear; you have not seen the last of me! We will be making visits back at least twice a year. I wish the company success in the future and I am sincerely proud to have had the opportunity to be with ABC Industries.

Best regards,

Rita Wilkinson

How To Write Letters: Announcing your Own Retirement
Letter # 4:

I have sincerely appreciated the association I have had with each of you over the past several years, so it is with some reluctance that I write this letter. After much thought and careful consideration, I have decided to retire from the Board as of June 15, the last day of the spring semester. As you know, Jane will be entering a pre-K program in the fall, and I feel that I should be expanding my energy in helping her new institution.

You know you can count on me for continued financial support and advice, and I will be pleased to counsel you about fund-raising matters as I have in the past. I have greatly enjoyed working with you and all other members of the Board, and I gained a great deal from your wisdom and sane approach to problem-solving under difficult conditions.
John has proven himself as an integral member of our group. He has crafted competitive sales strategies which resulted to a large volume of repeat business involving accounts of all sizes. He helped boost our low profit margin by streamlining and updating the company’s sales presentations and strategies. I have great confidence in John. He is deeply committed to client satisfaction.

Best regards,

Rita Wilkinson

Leave a Reply

